Physician Assistant Studies Subject Guide: Case Files Collection

Case Files Podcasts: Here users can access our dynamic, engaging podcasts which complement cases in the site and help illuminate concepts from the cases. Dr. Eugene Toy, primary author of the Case Files series, brings the cases to life and emphasizes key concepts in an easy-to-use format.

• We have dozens of podcasts correlated to Case Files cases on the site in Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, and Surgery, and will be adding episodes in Psychiatry and Pediatrics (these are all of the most trafficked cases specialties on the site).
• In the new podcasts, Dr. Toy interviews the specialty authors and provides additional tips and pearls, or key takeaways of the cases, in an interview-style format.
• Instructors may also link to these episodes to embed in coursework using the durable URL same as we discussed earlier with linking to cases.
• The site is mobile-friendly, so users can listen to the episodes on-the-go.

What Is Case Files Collection?  

Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection in an interactive format helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases. The Case Files Collection can help students at all levels excel in coursework and in clinical rotations and allow faculty to include clinical cases into their digital curricula.

Why Is the Case Files Collection Unique?

The Case Files Collection provides premier case content with the goal of improving learning outcomes through exposure to clinical cases. The Case Files Collection features:

• The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series books
• An interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases
• Personalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases

Cases in Case Files Collection provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor.

Cases in Case Files Collection are organized into categories and based off different resources, including:

• Basic Science Cases
• Clinical Rotation Cases
• Post-Graduate Cases