Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E&H Library News

Welcome to Campus!

by Adam Alley on 2021-08-25T10:12:51-04:00 | Comments

 

Schrute Facts (Dwight Schrute from The Office) meme


Are those students I see? Yes, they’re back!!!!

As we begin a new semester and you turn another page in the story that is your life (hooray, book puns!), the staff at the Emory & Henry Library want to extend a happy welcome to everyone on campus! Whether you are an incoming freshman or a returning upper-class student the library and its staff offer a number of services, space, and collections available to you during your studies. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know what some of them are and where you can find them.

Did you know that...?

In the E&H Kelly Library you can find:

Study Rooms! That’s right! Need a quiet place to study, do homework, or attend a Zoom meeting? OnLibrary Study Room the second floor of the Kelly Library, you will find our designated quiet area as well as 4 study rooms. You can reserve a study room, for 2 hours at a time, by calling our front desk at 276-944-6208 or check one out on a first-come, first-serve basis by stopping by in person. 

 

We also have 4 computers located on the main floor, but downstairs we have the Kelly Lab with 24 open workstations!

 

Are you looking for somewhere you can work together on group projects? Or are you and your friends just wanting to find a chill place to hang out on campus? Whatever the case, the library has got you covered. Our main floor is devoted to group work, lounging, reading, relaxing, and being amongst friends. Of course, you are most welcome to use this area for personal projects and research, too! In fact, you will find our Reference Collection on this floor, a great place to start if you are working on that research paper.

Library 1st Floor Collaboration Area
 

Did you also know that...?

In the School of Health Sciences Library you can find:

Study Rooms here, too! The SHS Library has 6 study rooms available for reservation or check-out on a first-come, first-served basis. Classrooms 321 and 332, when not being used for classes, can also be utilized as quiet, study spaces. Also among the study rooms, you can also find a Student Break Room located in Room 324 that has tables and seating, a microwave, and a refrigerator. 

School of Health Sciences Library self-checkout

 

 

 

A 24-Hour, self-automated library is available to our School of Health Sciences students and faculty! Equipped with 4 computers, a printer, a seating area, and a self-checkout area all in one place. On Mondays thru Fridays (9:00 AM - 5:00 PM), you can find an on-duty librarian just a hop, skip, and jump down the hall in Room 336.

 

 

 

 

Did I mention...?

No matter if you're on the Marion Campus or the Emory Campus, there are a few nifty services both libraries provide that I would highly suggest you most definitely take advantage of and utilize during your studies:

 

Can’t find a book or that particular article? Interlibrary Loan it! If the library doesn’t have access to a particular book, article, or information resource but you really, REALLY want to get your hands on it, library staff will work to borrow these items from libraries all over the country.  Students, set up an account here!

 

Reference and ask-a-librarian

If you find yourself staring blankly into the information void, surrounded by empty searches and a lack of the information you need OR you find yourself staring at a seemingly endless flow of resources and do not know where you should begin...You are in luck because I am about to let you in on a little secret that will make research much less daunting. Are you ready? Okay, the secret is...you are not alone! The E&H Library have five librarians ready to help you. Whether you are having trouble finding peer-reviewed articles, fine-tuning your research question, citation assistance, or if you need help finding a particular book...We are here for you!

Ways we help with research: access to resources, answer questions, research appointments

 

Collections available to you - print & electronic media

We have books, sure! But we have so many and much more!

The Denham Poetry Room and CollectionWant to do some “just-for-fun” reading? We have a section devoted solely to popular reading!

We also have graphic novels and comics! DVDs, CDs, magazines, and academic journals!

 

Like poetry?

Our Denham Collection holds more than 2000 poetry books!

 

 

 

The E&H Kelly Library's main collection.

 

 

We also have a large physical collection of books located on the second floor of the Kelly Library, which also includes a collection of children’s and young adult books. 

 

 

 

 

 

The library also has access to millions of resources through our databases, which you can access and explore here.

 

I could keep going. I really could, but I have kept you long enough! 

We are so happy to have you back!

One Does Not Simply meme


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...